Return to Toughbox®
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
November 17, 2017
Reviewer: Mike Taylor from Plainfield, IN United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
March 17, 2017
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Duluth, MN United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
June 30, 2016
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Duluth, MN United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Marginal design plagued by fit and finish issues March 9, 2015
Reviewer: paul from Cupertino, CA United States  
I have ordered five of these gearboxes and none of them have left me feeling warm and fuzzy inside.

Fit and finish has been a recurring issue.  Several of the gears simply didn't fit on shafts or shafts didn't fit into the bearings.  Some file time on a lathe to make excessive chamfers and actually turning some of the shaft OD's down has helped, but this should not be necessary.

This is not even touching on the inherently bad design of the gearbox.  Transparent plastic is great for visibility, but makes for a terrible bearing support plate.  These things are LOUD, no matter how much monkeying is done.

Considering the primarily educational context of these products, these drawbacks may be considered good?  I guess it's a good education in things to not do in product design.

Regardless, they've worked and haven't hand grenaded yet.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
14:1 My Favorite Ratio May 1, 2014
Reviewer: Jason Brett from Burnaby, BC Canada  
The standard 12:1 ratio works great, but the 14:1 ratio really gives an edge in acceleration and pushing force. I know, I know "it slows you down", but how long do you ever spend a peak velocity? Not nearly as much time as you do speeding up and slowing down. We did the math and 14:1 is my favorite ratio.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Review March 24, 2014
Reviewer: Thomas Ronning from North Walpole, NH United States  
The FMRHS Robotivs team, The Robocats, had a good experience purchasing items online.  Both the quality and the delivery time were fantastic.  As a rookie team, we look forward to using AndyMark in the future.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
February 18, 2014
Reviewer: Eddie Melton from VICKSBURG, MS United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Problem with gear February 11, 2014
Reviewer: Cesar Sena from Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Dominican Republic  
The gears do not fit the acrylic plate. To fit the engine has to be tilted and complying engage a little get stuck. I can not therefore connect more than one motor. For the project I'm doing I need two motors in the transmission. I need this transmission as fast as possible.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
toughbox tran January 23, 2014
Reviewer: Tony Kryl from Westhampton Beach, NY United States  
Tried and true dependable strong transmission use it for numerous bots very strong.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Toughbox Gearbox May 16, 2013
Reviewer: Helmut Thielsch from Midlothian, VA United States  
Our motor and gearbox are stationary.  This is not a FIRST Application, as students are using the equipment to run a small conveyor belt.  This gear reducer is as loud as rocks rolling in a metal coffee can on a Greyhound bus with a bad muffler.  It does transmit power, just very loudly.  We assembled it in accordance with the YouTube video and the instruction sheet.  We applied white lithium grease to all gear teeth (there was no grease recommendation in the instructions).

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items